Commission for Scientific and Technical Terminology was established on October 01, 1961 in pursuance of a Presidential Order dated April 27, 1960 with the objective to evolve technical terminology in all Indian Languages. The Commission was established under clause 44 of Article 344 of the Constitution of India as a follow up of recommendations of a Committee in this regard. The main function of the Commission is to evolve standard terminology, propagate its use and distribute it widely. In the process of evolution of scientific and technical terminology and reference material in Hindi and Indian Languages, the Commission shall have collaboration of State Governments, Universities, Regional Text-Book Boards and State Granth Academies.    

Presently, CSTT is functioning under Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education, Government of India with its headquarters at New Delhi. Twenty two State Granth Academies / State Text-Book Boards / Universities Cells, etc. are also associated with this Commission to produce University Level Text-Books / reference materials in Hindi and other Indian Languages with the use of standard terminology as evolved by the CSTT. Till date, CSTT has standardized the terminology of about Nine lakhs technical terms in different subjects and in different languages. Besides this, CSTT has published large number of Definitional Dictionaries, Glossaries, Text-Books, Reference Materials and Monographs, Quarterly Journals named ‘Vigyan Garima Sindhu’ and ‘Gyan Garima Sindhu’ and many more works of similar nature. CSTT has also taken care of Administrative and various Departmental Glossaries that are widely used by various Government Departments, Institutions, Research Laboratories, Autonomous Organization, PSUs etc. CSTT regularly organizes workshops, seminars, symposium, conferences, orientation and training programmes to increase the use and popularize the standard terminology of Hindi and other Indian languages.

Back To Previous Page | Page last updated date: 28-08-2020